My Journey to Tech

My Journey to Tech

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

I started the year 2021 with no skill other than my cooking and academic writing skill.

I was oblivious to the dynamic of tech space. During the lock-down, I joined every free class on high-income skills. And boy oh boy, there were lots but my understanding of this was so little. I got the knowledge but didn’t implement it. I couldn’t see the big picture, I was stuck with what I could see then.

Fast forward to March 2021, I was posted to Kaduna for my National Youth Service Corps scheme. I was posted to a Tech firm @ Ihifix. My job was to create content. I landed a job I know nothing about.

Luckily for me, I’m not one to give up. I started reading about content marketing and digital marketing. I took courses to aid my performance at work. It wasn’t an easy journey. At first, it was just me trying to meet up with my responsibilities; I can’t say for sure when it became the air I breathe. I’m no longer the girl with just kitchen prowess.

I entered the digital space and struck gold.

I now have four skills: Content Writing, Social Media Marketing, Graphic Design and Video Editing. However, Content writing is my major. I started out trying to bring value to the firm where I serve and invariably made myself valuable. I found purpose.

Cyberspace is so vast that it can accommodate everyone. Every sector in the country is experiencing digital transformation and skilled people are needed to promote this transformation. It’s not too late to pick up a skill in the tech space.

I’m looking forward to exploring UX Design and Research. I'll be sharing my growth and relatable tips on Instagram and Twitter. Let's connect.